This is the "Home" page of the "Health, Physical Education & Recreation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Health, Physical Education & Recreation  

Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.csc.edu/content.php?pid=109853 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book Materials

Most Books on Health, Physical Education and Recreation can be found in the 613 call number range.  Occasionally you will find additional materials in the 796 call numbers.

We also have numerous books in our e-book collection that can be found by searching our library catalog http://library.nscs.edu/search/X

Cover Art
Introduction to physical education, fitness, and sport - Siedentop, Daryl
Call Number: 613.71 Si15i
ISBN: 0767416627

Cover Art
Sports and athletes : opposing viewpoints - Torr, James D., 1974-
Call Number: 796 Sp67t
ISBN: 0737722452

Scholarly Journals

  • Journal of Physical Education Recreation and Dance (JOHPERD)
  • Journal of Teaching in Physical Education
    The purpose of the Journal of Teaching in Physical Education is to communicate national and international research and stimulate discussion, study, and critique of teaching, teacher education, and curriculum as these fields relate to physical activity in schools, communities, higher education, and sport.
  • Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology



    The Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology (JSEP) publishes research articles by leading world scholars that explore the interactions between psychology and exercise and sport performance, editorials about contemporary issues in the field, abstracts of current research on sport and exercise psychology, and book reviews
  • Journal of Behavior Analysis in Sport, Fitness and Medicine (2008-2009)
    The Journal of Behavioral Analysis in Health, Sports, Fitness, and Medicine (JBAHSFM) is a journal for those interested in the application of behavioral principles for promoting wellness, enhancing fitness, and sports skills development, and ameliorating disease.

HPER Weblinks

 

 

Popular Magazines

Current (and past issues) of the following magazines and journals are available in the King Library:

  • Strategies
  • Track and Field News
  • Runner's World
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Journal of Sports Medicine and Physical fitness
  • Health and Fitness Journal

    Article Databases

    • EBSCO Discovery
      One shot searching for Ebsco Host, Archive Grid, CAMIO, Encyclopedia Britanica Online, Issues & Controversies, WorldCat, GEM - Gateway to Educational Materials, Google Scholar, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, JSTOR, Directory of Open Access Journals, Oxford Art Online, Oxford Music Online, eLibrary, PubMed, and Wilson Web databases.
    • Ebsco A-to-Z
      Ebsco A-to-Z provides library users with a single, comprehensive online list of titles the King Library holds. A simple search box allows users to easily find resources by title with advanced search options also available. Users can quickly locate and link to journals by keyword or they can also browse an alphabetical list by title or subject.
    • Educator's Reference Desk
      Educator's Reference Desk provides access to Resource Guides and Lesson Plans.

    • ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
      ERIC (largest source of education information) contains more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Those documents not full-text online, are available on microfiche at King Library.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip